English posts!

From now on I will do some English posts too since some of my followers are from abroad! Welcome to my blog:) 

So, I’m one of the lucky 20 to attend to KI’s summer research school this year. Here you can find some information about it in English: http://ki.se/ki/jsp/polopoly.jsp;jsessionid=a2Tji6rNkb2dpgvBB_?l=en&d=4178  

I've been here since the 14th of June, with exception for Midsummer. The first week was an introduction week where we attended to different interesting lectures and had many social activities to get to know each other. We also spend a weekend in the Swedish archipelago. It was really nice!

Last week I got to meet with my supervisor and I was introduced to the research team. They are doing research on a DNA-vaccine against primarily HIV-1 and HCV, check out this link for more information: http://ki.se/ki/jsp/polopoly.jsp?d=23486&a=112987&l=en

My part in this project is to analyze what kind of immune response that develops depending on the used injection method. We are going to analyze three different methods: intradermal injection using a normal needle, intradermal injection using a micro needle, and injection using a biojector (i.e. very high pressure). Last week I got to try to analyze what kind of antibodies there were present in serum from several different mice, using the indirect ELISA method: http://www.elisa-antibody.com/ELISA-Introduction/ELISA-types/indirect-elisa We used different types of secondary antibodies to detect if the primary antibodies originated from the cellular or the humoral immune system.

This week it seems as if I’m going to purify DNA-plasmids using bacteria. Cool! It’s the DNA-plasmids that later on are injected as a DNA-vaccine: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DNA_vaccination

This is very briefly what has happened so far:) Feel free to take a look at the pictures that I’ve published before!:)



Kommentarer


Kommentera inlägget här:


Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback

Gabriella Glowacki

Välkommen till forskarbella!

RSS 2.0